Proof of Address for License Replacement

The following documents are considered proof of address to get your license replaced or re-issued.  


According to the Federal Real ID Act, DMV needs to see proof of your current address. Bring a hardcopy or electronic copy of one of the following that includes your name and address:


  • Utility bill
  • Credit card statement
  • Pay stub or earnings statement
  • Rent receipt
  • Telephone bill
  • Transcript or report card from an accredited school
  • Bank statement or checkbook
  • Mortgage document
  • Tax document
  • Homeowners/renter's insurance policy
  • Vehicle registration
  • Other items with address that can be reviewed by Driver's License personnel

Colorado statute no longer allows duplicate licenses under certain circumstances*; if you have lost, had stolen or have mutilated or destroyed your Driver's License, you will be required to renew the license for the full renewal fee:


Driver License/Document

Fee

 New driver's license or renewal (all ages)

 $21.00

 Instruction permit (all ages, includes CDL Permits)

 $14.00

 Duplicate license: 1st replacement

 $  7.50

 Duplicate license: 2nd or more

 $14.00

 Commercial license or renewal

 $35.00

 ID card (free if 60+)

 $10.50


  • All of the above include the $.60 for the ID security surcharge.
  • Licenses with a motorcycle endorsement will have a $2.00 surcharge added.
  • Colorado law prohibits a person from holding both a valid driver's license and an identification card.